Compact Fluorescents – Making the right choice

January 26, 2009 at 7:34 am Leave a comment

I found a great article about choosing the right one of these bulbs for your use taking into account location and application.

There is a summary at SuperEco (http://www.supereco.com/news/2009/01/26/which-compact-fluorescent-bulb-is-right-for-you/) and the main article is at the Energy Star website: (http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=cfls.pr_cfls_shapes).

However as the article mentions you should really consider the location of these bulbs before installing.  I have several location in my house where a spiral bulb would be a mistake, such as track lighting in my stairway.

Also in outdoor locations it is better to buy the CFL’s that look like a conventional bulb in that they are enclosed.  The main reason, at least for me is that the regular bulbs always become spider or other vermin nests, bu the additional protections seems to allow for a slightly longer life.

Lastly keep in mind that a CFL may not be the best application and you may want to spend some extra money on a LED bulb or a CFL that can be dimmed.  All in all I can see that when the mandates to eliminate the incandescent bulbs become law I am sure I won’t have a single one left and so won’t care except from a historical viewpoint.

As always I thank you for your time and interest. Please take the time to Digg, Stumble Upon or add to the other social network of your choice to help me spread the word about these issues. Please forward any questions or suggestions to: askthefm@gmail.com

Social Bookmarks:

Add to Technorati Favorites

Entry filed under: Maintenance, Recycling, Technology. Tags: , .

Solar Power Update for Jan. 22, 2009 Follow up to Compact Fluorescents – Making the right choice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds