Killing the Junk Mail Habit

March 26, 2009 at 9:42 pm Leave a comment

Nothing bothers me so much as the piles of wasted paper that arrive at my home and office, advertisements that never get read or are useful for anything more than being used in any of the myriad ways we use newspaper after we have read it.  It usually isn’t even good for those things and simply goes straight into the recycle bag.

Well we have some good news for those of you with post office boxes, the US Postal Service is expanding their lobby recycling program so you can responsibly dispose of that direct, or “junk” mail easily and quickly. The story can be found at Earth911 (http://earth911.com/blog/2009/03/26/usps-expands-lobby-recycling-program/).

Of course you can go a step farther and get yourself and your office off of some of these mailing lists at https://www.directmail.com/directory/mail_preference/ or at the NRDC’s site, Catalog Choice (http://www.catalogchoice.org/).

There is even a new service where you can sign up for a virtual email box that is tied to your actual address called Zumbox (http://beta.zumbox.com/).

Excerpt:” Zumbox delivers paperless mail online – from street address to street address. What used to only be sent as paper mail can now be sent without the paper. How? We’ve created a nationwide paperless postal system with a Zumbox for every street address in the United States, including yours.

This new service hopes to convince advertisers and other businesses to use its service for a more convenient and targeted approach although it would certainly be possible for folks to receive their utility bills and the like through the service. It is free to claim your address’s box and I would recommend it to make sure no one does for some illicit purpose!

I have even started to convert my trade journals to the electronic versions wherever possible. My goal is to reduce the paper that I must recycle by 50% by the end of the year.  I have found that a well designed electronic version of a magazine is actually easier to read in some ways than the paper versions.  I can carry them around with me on my Sony eBook reader meaning that my briefcase is lighter and that they are more likely to actually get looked at!

I am interested if any of you have additional strategies to help on my quest so let me know!

As always I thank you for your time and interest. Please take the time to Digg, Stumble Upon or add to the other social network of your choice to help me spread the word about these issues. Please forward any questions or suggestions to: askthefm@gmail.com

Social Bookmarks:

Add to Technorati Favorites

Entry filed under: Environment, Recycling. Tags: , .

Solar Gadgets Amazing Architecture for March 30, 2009

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


